A piece of
At 171 Collins Street a sense of legacy and prestige runs deep. The original Mayfair building opened as an eight-storey edifice replete with a concert Hall that instantly became a part of Melbourne’s architectural fabric, courtesy of its iconic Romanesque Revival façade. In 1933, the hall was demolished, and, in its place, the Metro Theatre was born. The theatre’s name was later changed to the Mayfair Theatre but closed permanently in 1982.
With architects Bates Smart at the helm, the dramatic 18-storey glass tower fronting Flinders Lane now serves as the building’s crown jewel. The faceted, crystalline glass reflects its surrounds, shining a light across the ever-changing streetscape below. It provides a striking contrast to the Mayfair’s heritage red brick façade, as though a crossroads between past and present.